Group Admins

• Profile picture of Diane Zander Mason

Equipment & technical questions

Public Group active 1 year, 8 months ago ago

Equipment & technical questions

Program Set-up advice sought-equipment, class size, training, application process? (4 posts)

• Profile picture of Dina Weinstein Dina Weinstein said 4 years ago:

I am a journalist in Miami, FL running a Youth Media/Radio program in
    Pinecrest, FL, with the aim of getting the participants to air their
    news & commentary pieces (about the municipality) on the town’s AM
    radio station.
    I am also submitting a proposal to an art museum in another
    municipality for a youth media after-school program that would probably
    air as a podcast or on PRX.
    I write to you to learn more about programs out there.

1. I would like to propose the programs purchase some digital recording
    equipment for simple interviews or recording voice tracks or collecting
    ambient sound.
    What do you suggest? We do NOT have a studio situation, but rather just personal computers and audacity or Garage band.
    My personal equipment is from the dark ages ( a sony pro walkman with terrible hiss).

2. How many students do you accept at a time?
    3. What does training consist of?
    4. Do you have auditions or an application process?

A bit about me: Columbia J-school grad. Worked in public radio many
    years ago and led youth radio programs at WDIY in Bethlehem, PA. Now I
    write for various publications in and out of Miami.
    Very gratefully yours,
    Dina Weinstein – Miami, FL – c: 786.246.0644 – dina_w@hotmail.com

###

• Profile picture of Noah Miller Noah Miller said 4 years ago:

It’s very exciting to hear about another youth radio program in the making!

I’m sure she’s very busy, but I know Sasha Aslanian of Minnesota public radio recently made a tour of several youth radio programs around the country, and has a good perspective on a lot of the questions you’re asking.